

KENOSHA COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

Resolution No.

Subject: A Resolution Recognizing May 15, 2024 as "Peace Officers Memorial Day" and May 12-18, 2024 as "National Police Week"			
Original [x]	Revised []	2nd Correction []	Resubmitted []
Date Submitted: 2/27/24		Date Resubmitted:	
Submitted by: Vice Chair Decker, Supervisors Rodriguez, and Poole			
Fiscal Note Attached []		Legal Note Attached [] Agreemen	t
Prepared by: Vice Chair Decker		Signature:	

WHEREAS, Congress asked President John F. Kennedy to designate May 15th to honor peace officers, and in 1963 President Kennedy declared "Peace Officers Memorial Day" in honor of those peace officers who, through their courageous deeds, have lost their lives or have become disabled in the performance of duty; and

WHEREAS, in 1963 President John F. Kennedy designated the calendar week during which May 15th occurs to be observed as "National Police Week"; and

WHEREAS, from the beginning of this nation, law enforcement officers have played an important role in safeguarding the rights and freedoms which are guaranteed by the Constitution and in protecting the lives and property of our citizens; and

WHEREAS, we rely on law enforcement officers to keep our neighborhoods safe, enforce our laws, and respond in times of crisis; and

WHEREAS, every day, law enforcement officers face the threat of violence and danger, routinely putting their lives in jeopardy to defend others, putting themselves at risk of injury, disability, or even death; and

WHEREAS, these men and women by their distinctive service and dedicated efforts as law enforcement officers have earned our highest respect and deepest gratitude.

WHEREAS, it is fitting and proper that we express our gratitude for the dedicated service and courageous deeds of law enforcement officers and for the contributions they have made to the security and well-being of the citizens of Kenosha County provided by the men and women of the Kenosha County Sheriff's

Department, City of Kenosha Police Department, Village of Pleasant Prairie Police Department, Village of Twin Lakes Police Department, UW-Parkside Police Department, and the Town of Wheatland Constable; and

WHEREAS, we remember the law enforcement officers that made the ultimate sacrifice while protecting the citizens of Kenosha County:

Town of Salem Department of Public Safety Officer Michael Ventura End of Watch July 8, 2016

Deputy Sheriff Frank Fabiano, Jr. End of Watch May 17, 2007

Deputy Sheriff Blanco Aquino End of Watch July 21, 1991

Deputy Sheriff James Rieschl End of Watch July 2, 1961

Deputy Sheriff Jacob Keul End of Watch June 11, 1922

Kenosha Police Officer Dreux M. Beaulier End of Watch May 15, 2004

Kenosha Police Officer Gary W. Fraid End of Watch June 7, 1973

Kenosha Detective Donald F. Murphy End of Watch June 2, 1953

Kenosha Police Officer Anthony Pingitore End of Watch March 31, 1919

May we never forget the years of dedicated service these officers bestowed upon this community and the sacrifices they and their families have made for us;

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the Kenosha County Board of Supervisors does recognize May 15, 2024 as "Peace Officers Memorial Day" in Kenosha County to honor those law enforcement officers who, through their courageous deeds, have lost their lives or have become disabled in the performance of duty; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Kenosha County Board of Supervisors does recognize May 12-18, 2024 as "National Police Week" in Kenosha County to honor the outstanding men and women whose diligence and professionalism keep our county and citizens safe; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Kenosha County Board of Supervisors encourages members of public to join in this recognition and appreciation with appropriate ceremonies and observances in which our community may join in commemorating law enforcement officers, past and present, who by their faithful and loyal devotion to their responsibilities have rendered a dedicated service to their communities, and, in so doing, have established for themselves an enviable and enduring reputation for preserving the rights and security of all citizens.

Erin Decker

Zachary Rodriguez

John Poole