## KENOSHA COUNTY

## **BOARD OF SUPERVISORS**

RESOLUTION NO			
Subject: Resolution calling on the Wisconsin Sincrease the number of psychiatrists and psyc Wisconsin.	State Legislature to allocate funds that would hiatric advanced nurse practitioners practicing in		
Original ⊠ Corrected □	2nd Correction ☐ Resubmitted ☐		
Date Submitted: May 3, 2017	Date Resubmitted:		
Submitted By: Jeff Gentz, Supervisor Daniel Esposito, Supervisor	Human Services and Legislative Committees		
Fiscal Note Attached □	Legal Note Attached □		
Prepared By: LaVerne Jaros	Signature:		
WHEREAS, the ratio of population to a from 1,620:1 compared to an overall ratio in W WHEREAS, long waits for psychiatric conditions and greater risk for hospitalization;  NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLV does hereby urge the Wisconsin State Legi psychiatric residents and Advanced Nurse Pra	ic care can result in exacerbation of mental health  VED that the Kenosha County Board of Supervisors slature to allocate funds to increase the number of		
forgiveness for psychiatrists and APNPs who health providers; and	agree to practice in counties with insufficient mental		
<b>BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED</b> that sur Medicaid rates for psychiatry and therapy; and	plus Medicaid funds should be allocated toward higher		
<b>BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED</b> that the this resolution to Kenosha County's legislators	Kenosha County Clerk is instructed to send a copy of in the Assembly and Senate.		
Dated at Kenosha County, Wisconsin, this	day of, 2017		
Respectfully submitted:			
Jeffrey Gentz			

Daniel Esposito

HUMAN SERVICES COMMITTEE:	<u>Aye</u>	<u>Nay</u>	<u>Abstain</u>	Excused
W. L. 10. L. 10				
Michael Goebel, Chair				
Dayvin Hallmon, Vice Chair				
John Poole				
Andy Berg			П	П
Leah Blough	_	_	_	
Rick Dodge				
Greg Retzlaff				
LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEE:	<u>Aye</u>	<u>Nay</u>	<u>Abstain</u>	Excused
LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEE:	<u>Aye</u> □	<u>Nay</u> □	<u>Abstain</u>	Excused
Boyd Frederick, Chair				
				_ _
Boyd Frederick, Chair				
Boyd Frederick, Chair  Dayvin Hallmon, Vice Chair				_ _
Boyd Frederick, Chair  Dayvin Hallmon, Vice Chair  Michael Skalitzky				
Boyd Frederick, Chair  Dayvin Hallmon, Vice Chair  Michael Skalitzky  John Poole  John Franco				
Boyd Frederick, Chair  Dayvin Hallmon, Vice Chair  Michael Skalitzky  John Poole				



## Menosha County

P.O. Box 631 • Kenosha, Wisconsin 53141 • (262) 652-3606

April 24, 2017

Jeffrey A. Gentz County Board Supervisor, District 3 County Administration Building 1010 56<sup>th</sup> Street Kenosha, WI 531430

Supervisor Gentz,

On behalf of NAMI Kenosha County, I fully support the recent resolution regarding the need for more psychiatrists in our community. We receive countless calls from folks searchiing for a good psychiatrist. We fully support any effort to expand the number of mental health professionals in Kenosha County.

I would also like to mention that the long awaited Martha J. Hollowell Scholarship is now accepting applications due May 15, 2017 to start classes in the Fall of 2017. The Martha Hollowell Scholarship Foundation will award two \$7,500 Scholarships annually to two deserving applicants who have already completed the requisites needed for their Advanced Degree based on the following list of qualifications with the goal of pursuing a:

Master degree in Social Work
Master or Doctoral Degree in Psychology
Advanced Practice Psychiatrict Nurse Practioner
Physician's Assistant with Psychiatry Specialty
Doctor of Medicine specializing in Psychiatry

The applicant must also demonstrate a commitment to practicing in the Kenosha community for a minimum of 2 to 5 years, to serve individuals living with severe and persistent mental health issues.

Thank you for your continued support and please let me know if there are any questions.

Sincerely,

Jack Rose, Co-President NAMI Kenosha County

262-605-9038