County of Kenosha

Board of Supervisors

Resolution No. ____

A RESOLUTION IN SUPPORT OF THE PRESERVATION OF MORTGAGE INTEREST AND PROPERTY TAX DEDUCTIONS

	O a ma ata d		Deputy witted					
Original _X_	Corrected	2 nd Correction	Resubmitted					
Date Submitted:	Date Submitted: Date resubmitted:							
Submitted by: Legislative and Finance/Administration Committees								
Fiscal Note Attached	l:	Legal Note Attached: _						
Prepared By: Supe	rvisor Steve Bostrom							

WHEREAS, since its inception over a century ago, the United States income tax system has recognized the positive effects of homeownership for families, communities, and society by rewarding home buyers with tax benefits; and

WHEREAS, the result has been a home-owning society that is, in many respects, the envy of the world; and

WHEREAS, a kind of tax reform plan already being considered in Washington is inadvertently threatening to decimate or even wipe out the tax benefits of owning a home for 95 percent of American families by not allowing a property tax deduction; and

WHEREAS, the tax incentive to buy a home has its first and largest effect on the first-time homebuyer; and

WHEREAS, having a strong and appropriate tax incentive to assist first-time buyers has been instrumental in getting millions of homeowners into their first house; and

WHEREAS, these tax incentives include the deductibility of both mortgage interest and property taxes; and

WHEREAS, losing the tax benefits of owning a home would have a significant and negative effect on the price of houses; and

WHEREAS, the almost certain results from such proposals would be detrimental to the residents of Kenosha County and to their quality of life;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Kenosha County Board of Supervisors opposes any efforts by Congress and the White House to reduce or repeal the federal tax deduction for state and local taxes paid; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that we oppose any action that would reduce or repeal the deduction for interest paid on mortgages; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this resolution shall be sent to our Congressional Representatives and key members of the Administration.

Respectfully Submitted,

Steve Bostrom

Approved by:

Legislative Committee:

	Aye	<u>Nay</u>	<u>Abstain</u>	Excused
David Fundarials Chair				
Boyd Frederick, Chair				
Dayvin Hallmon, Vice-Chair				
Andy Berg				
Erin Decker				
John Franco				
John Poole				
Michael Skalitzky				

Finance and Administration Committee

	Aye	<u>Nay</u>	<u>Abstain</u>	Excused
Terry Rose, Chair				
Ronald Frederick, Vice-Chair				
Daniel Esposito				
Greg Retzlaff				
Rick Dodge				
Jeffrey Gentz				
Edward Kubicki				