## KENOSHA COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

## RESOLUTION NO.\_\_\_\_\_

Subject: Resolution calling on the Wisconsin State Legislature to retain funding for Aging and Disability Resource Centers' Dementia Care Specialists.							
Original ⊠ Corrected □	2nd Correction  Resubmitted						
Date Submitted: May 3, 2017	Date Resubmitted:						
Submitted By: Rick Dodge							
Fiscal Note Attached	Legal Note Attached						
Prepared By: LaVerne Jaros	Signature:						

WHEREAS, there are approximately 2,260 persons in Kenosha County who have dementia and that number is expected to grow to over 4,000 by 2030; and

WHEREAS, Dementia Care Specialists at the Aging and Disability Resource Centers help individuals with dementia remain in the community longer, delay the need for long term care and reduce family stress; and

WHEREAS, each day that an individual remains in the community and outside of a care facility saves taxpayers an estimated \$161 per day or \$58,765 annually; and

WHEREAS, Kenosha County's Dementia Care Specialist provided consultation and assistance for over 110 families last year as well as community education about dementia; and

WHEREAS, state funding for the Dementia Care Specialists is scheduled to end in 2017;

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** that the Kenosha County Board of Supervisors does hereby urge the Wisconsin State Legislature to allocate funds in the 2017-2018 state budget for continuation of the Dementia Specialist Program.

**FURTHER** that the Kenosha County Clerk is instructed to send a copy of this resolution to Kenosha County's legislators in the Assembly and Senate.

Dated at Kenosha County, Wisconsin, this \_\_\_\_ day of \_\_\_\_, 2017

HUMAN SERVICES COMMITTEE:	<u>Aye</u>	<u>Nay</u>	<u>Abstain</u>	Excused
Michael School Chain	đ			
Michael Goébel, Chair				
Day in Hallmon, Vice Chair	R			
John Poale	-			
Andy Berg BANK	শ্ব			
Rick/Dodge	₩,			
Greg/Retzlaff	×			

LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEE:	<u>Aye</u>	<u>Nay</u>	<u>Abstain</u>	Excused
David Freedorick, Obsis				
Boyd Frederick, Chair				
Dayvin Hallmon, Vice Chair				
Michael Skalitzky				
John Poole				
John Franco				
Andy Berg				
Erin Decker			_	