Brookside Board of Trustees


  • Robert W. Pitts, Chair (term expires Jan. 6, 2025)
  • Supervisor John O'Day (term expires Jan. 6, 2025)
  • Judy Jensen (term expires Jan. 1, 2024)
  • Barb Wisnefski (term expires Jan. 1, 2024)
  • Supervisor Gabe Nudo (term expires Jan. 2, 2023)

History & Purpose

Pursuant to Section 46.18 of the Wisconsin Statutes, every county home, infirmary, hospital or similar institution, shall, subject to regulations approved by the County Board, be managed by a board of trustees. Therefore, the Brookside Care Center must be managed by a board of trustees.

Members & Terms

In accordance with Section 46.18 of the Wisconsin Statutes, the Brookside Board of Trustees, shall consist of 3 to 9 members, appointed for staggered 3-year terms ending the first Monday in January.  

Kenosha County Policy Resolution #1 (May 2, 1989) states that the Brookside Board of Trustees shall consist of 5 members, 2 of which shall be County Board Supervisors. 

Section 59.17(2)(c) of the Wisconsin Statutes, states that the county executive shall appoint the members of all boards and commissions where appointments are required and where the statutes provide that the appointments are made by the county board or the chairperson of the county board. All appointments to boards and commissions by the county executive are subject to confirmation of the county board.

Pursuant to Kenosha County Board of Supervisors Policy Resolution #65 (November 3, 1982), members of the Brookside Board of Trustees receive a per diem payment for attendance at official meetings, with the number of per diems in any given calendar year capped at 42. Should any member of the Brookside Board of Trustees also be a Kenosha County Board Supervisor, he or she will not be qualified for the per diem payment allowed to non-supervisor members. At the present time, non-supervisor members receive a $50 per diem.