Civil Service Commission


  • Ruth Dyson (term expires Dec. 31, 2025)
  • Cathryn Bothe (term expires Dec. 31, 2026)
  • Thomas Santarelli (term expires Dec. 31, 2024)
  • William Hopkins (term expires Dec. 31, 2028)
  • Lena Cooksey (term expires Dec. 31, 2027)

History & Purpose

Pursuant to the authority granted in Chapters 59 and 63 of the Wisconsin Statutes, the Kenosha County Board of Supervisors created Chapter 4 of the Municipal Code of Kenosha County, thereby establishing the Kenosha County Civil Service Commission, to provide an equitable system of recruitment, selection, promotion, and retention for sworn Kenosha County Sheriff’s Department employees.

Members & Terms

In accordance with Section 4.01(1)(b) of the Municipal Code of Kenosha County, the Civil Service Commission consists of five (5) members, all legal residents of Kenosha County. Appointments are made on the basis of recognized and demonstrated interest in, and knowledge of, problems of civil service. No person holding any elective or appointive public position or office of any sort within the Kenosha County government shall be appointed thereon. No present or former employee of the Kenosha County Sheriff’s Department shall be eligible for membership on the Commission.

Members are appointed by the County Executive, subject to confirmation by the Kenosha County Board of Supervisors, for staggered 5-year terms beginning on January 1.

Commission members shall be entitled to receive compensation from the County for services rendered in conducting the authorized business of the Commission, which compensation shall be determined by the County Board of Supervisors, plus mileage at the prevailing rate when such services are rendered. At the present time, commissioners receive a per diem of $50. For meetings that exceed six hours in length, a $100 per diem is paid.