Public Inland Lake Protection and Rehabilitation District Boards

County Appointees

  • Lake Benedict/Lake Tombeau Management District: Alex Wiezbicki (term expires Dec. 31, 2024)
  • Camp/Center Lake Rehabilitation District: Chuck Walker (Appointment confirmed by the County Board on Aug. 16, 2022; to continue until a board annual meeting is held and permanent commissioners can be elected.)
  • George Lake Planning & Rehabilitation District: Matthew Sattersten (term expires March 31, 2019)
  • Hooker Lake Management District: Gregory Kruchko (term expires Jan. 31, 2022)
  • Powers Lake Management District: Judy Jooss (term expires Oct. 7, 2000)
  • Silver Lake Management District: John Coffey (term expires Dec. 31, 2023)
  • Voltz Lake Management District: William Martin (term expires Nov. 30, 2014)

History & Purpose

Pursuant to Section 33.21 of the Wisconsin Statutes, districts may be created for the purpose of undertaking a program of lake protection and rehabilitation of a lake or parts thereof within the district. Section 33.22 further states that any district may select a name for the district, sue and be sued, make contracts, accept gifts, purchase, lease, devise, or otherwise acquire, hold, maintain or dispose of property, disburse money, contract debt and do any other acts necessary to carry out a program of lake protection and rehabilitation. Under Section 33.28, management of these affairs of the district shall be delegated to a board of commissioners.

Members & Terms

In accordance with Section 33.28(2)(a) of the Wisconsin Statutes, a district board of commissioners shall include one person appointed by the county board who is a member of the county land conservation committee or is nominated by the county land conservation committee and appointed by the county board.

Pursuant to Section 59.17(2)(c) of the Wisconsin Statutes, in a county with an elected county executive, the county executive shall appoint the members of all boards and commissions, where appointments are required, subject to confirmation of the county board.

Please refer to Corporation Counsel Opinion 2009-4, which indicates that such appointments were made by the County Executive and confirmed by the County Board. This opinion was confirmed by Attorney General J.B. Van Hollen in opinion OAG-2-09 dated June 3, 2009.

County Representatives serve 2-year terms and are required to provide the Kenosha County Land and Water Conservation Committee with an annual update of important lake district concerns. A County Representative is appointed to each of the following lake district boards: