- County Clerk
- Marriage License
- Marriage Requirements
Marriage License Application Requirements
Due at the time of the application $100 cash or $103 if paying by debit or credit card. NO CHECKS.
Applicants must apply together in person and provide the following:
Both applicants must show an acceptable photo ID at the time of application. ONLY current unexpired and valid identification will be accepted.
Acceptable Photo Identification: State issued ID, Drivers License, Passport, Passport Card or Resident Alien ID.
Proof of Where You Live
Current unexpired State issued ID, Drivers License or Resident Alien ID with current address or mail (utility bill or government correspondence dated within 30-60 days) with name and street address. Both applicants need to provide proof of where they reside.
Call 262-653-2552 to clarify qualifications for applying for a marriage license in Kenosha County or in the State of Wisconsin.
Certified Birth Certificates
Certified Birth Certificates are required from all applicants. Certified copies can be obtained from the county or state in which one was born. Photocopies, Hospital Certificates or Registration of Birth Record will not be accepted.
Certified Birth Certificates in a foreign language must be translated into English and notarized. Translation must be done from the certified copy by an uninvolved third party and their signature must be notarized. Both the Certified Birth Certificate and the notarized translation must be presented at the time of application.
Certified Birth Certificates need to be in acceptable condition, unaltered. They should not be torn, have holes or tape on them.
Social Security Numbers
Social Security numbers are required if the applicant has been issued one.
Divorce Papers / Certified Death Certificate
Divorce Papers or a Certified Death Certificate is required if one or both of the applicants have been previously married. Applicant must provide a copy of the court file stamped with the judge’s signature Divorce Judgment, Annulment papers or a Certified Death Certificate from their last marriage. If the marriage ended in divorce, it must be final for a minimum of six months whether the divorce was granted in Wisconsin or elsewhere.
You must have an officiant scheduled at the time of the application. The name, address and phone number of the officiant performing your wedding ceremony are required. The officiant must be at least 18 years old.
"Neither our office nor the State Vital Records Office is able to confirm the legality of a religious officiant. If you have a question about the legality of the officiant you have chosen, you may want to seek legal counsel."
Weddings at the Courthouse
Courthouse weddings must be scheduled prior to the appointment by calling the Circuit Court at 262-653-2465.
The County Clerk’s Office does not schedule courthouse weddings or provide officiants. You are responsible for finding an officiant and must have the officiant's information when you apply for the marriage license.
Completing the Application
Other information required for completion of the application is the date of the intended marriage, location of marriage ceremony, number of this marriage, race and highest grade of education completed. Parties must take an oath that the information provided is correct and that they are free to marry under the laws of this state.
Upon making the application, a three-day waiting period is required by law. This is exclusive of the day of application. The license will be issued on the fourth day and is good for 60 days from the date of issuance.
When should you apply: No more than 63 days before your date and no less than 5 days.
General Instructions for Officiants
View the General and Detailed Instructions for the Bride, Groom, and Officiant for Completing the Marriage License and the Original Certificate of Marriage (PDF).
Officiants are not required to register with the County Clerk or the State Vital Records Office. When a couple applies for their marriage license, the clerk will request the contact information of the officiant, they do not need to see the officiant's ordination papers.
At least two adult witnesses, who are 18 years of age or older, are required in addition to the person officiating. Witnesses are required for the ceremony but not for the application process.