## KENOSHA COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

## RESOLUTION NO.\_\_\_\_\_

| Subject: Resolution asking Governor Evers and the Wisconsin State Legislature to apply for a waiver from Federal rules excluding institutional stays from Medicaid coverage. |                                |  |  |  |  |  |  |
|--|--------------------------------|--|--|--|--|--|--|
| Original ⊠ Corrected □   | 2nd Correction □ Resubmitted □ |  |  |  |  |  |  |
| Date Submitted:  | Date Resubmitted:              |  |  |  |  |  |  |
| Submitted By: Andy Berg, Supervisor  |                                |  |  |  |  |  |  |
| Fiscal Note Attached □   | Legal Note Attached            |  |  |  |  |  |  |
| Prepared By:   | Signature:                     |  |  |  |  |  |  |

**WHEREAS**, federal rules exclude patients age 22-64 years of age from Medicaid coverage in an Institute for Mental Disease (IMD), resulting in high costs to Wisconsin counties for individuals with mental illness who require short-term placement; and

**WHEREAS**, the IMD rule works against the provision of necessary health care treatment, and path to recovery, for young and middle-aged adults with brain disorders; and

**WHEREAS**, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) has issued an invitation to states to apply for a waiver of this exclusion, allowing states to receive federal reimbursement for the cost of treatment in an IMD;

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** that the Kenosha County Board of Supervisors does hereby urge the Governor and Legislature to submit an application for a waiver from CMS of the Medicaid IMD exclusion to allow federal reimbursement of short term acute care and transition planning for persons with serious and persistent mental illness; and

**FURTHER** that the Kenosha County Clerk is instructed to send a copy of this resolution to Governor Evers, Kenosha County's legislators in the Assembly and Senate and to Wisconsin's County Board Chairs.

Dated at Kenosha County, Wisconsin, this \_\_\_\_ day of \_\_\_\_\_, 2019

| LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEE: |   | <u>Aye</u> | <u>Nay</u> | <u>Abstain</u> | Excused |
|------------------------|---|------------|------------|----------------|---------|
|                        | _ |            |            |                |         |
| Gabe Nudo, Chair       | _ |            |            |                |         |
| Andy Berg, Vice Chair  |   |            |            |                |         |
| Boyd Frederick         | _ |            |            |                |         |
| John Franco            | _ | -<br>п     | _<br>_     | -<br>п         | _<br>_  |
| Mark Nordigian         | - |            | _          |                |         |
| Daniel Gaschke         | _ |            |            |                |         |
|                        | _ |            |            |                |         |

| HUMAN SERVICES COMMITTEI                          | E: | <u>Aye</u> | <u>Nay</u> | <u>Abstain</u> | Excused |
|---|----|------------|------------|----------------|---------|
| William Grady, Chair<br>MIchael Goebel-Vice Chair | -  |            |            |                |         |
|   | _  |            |            |                |         |
|   | _  |            |            |                |         |
| Andy Berg   |    |            |            |                |         |
| David Celebre                                     | -  |            |            |                |         |
| Amy Maurer  | -  |            |            | Π              |         |
| Gabe Nudo   | -  |            | -          | -              | -       |
| Zach Rodriguez                                    | -  | Ц          | Ц          | Ц              | Ц       |